Celebrity Panel to Judge I Love NY Competition

(released 6/3/2008)

Filmmakers -- professional, student, or amateur -- will have the opportunity to tell the world why they love New York, with their work judged by a star-studded celebrity panel, as part of a new initiative launched by Empire State Development.

The inaugural "I LOVE NY" Short Film Competition invites filmmakers to produce their own 60-second short film illustrating why they love New York.

A panel of entertainment industry celebrities with a strong New York connection will judge the submissions, including Academy Award-winner Philip Seymour Hoffman, Emmy-winner Tina Fey and MTV Movie Award-winning filmmaker Doug Liman. Fey, whose hit show "30 Rock" is both set and filmed in New York, taped an instruction video for the filmmakers about what she loves about New York.

Other judges making up the panel include Dave Barger, CEO of jetBlue Airways; Michelle Byrd, Executive Director, Independent Feature Project; Milton Glaser, Creator, "I LOVE NY" logo and Founder, New York Magazine; V.A. Musetto, Film Critic, New York Post; Evan Shapiro, EVP/General Manager, Independent Film Channel; and Raj Roy, Chief Curator, MOMA Department of Film.

As part of the recent relaunch of the "I LOVE NY" campaign, residents and visitors alike are invited to document the myriad sites, sounds and destinations they love throughout the Empire State on film. The competition, which is being executed by Civic Entertainment Group, is seeking to raise awareness of the entire State as a world-class vacation destination.

The "I LOVE NY" Short Film Competition is open to participants over 14 years old. Submissions will be accepted between June 1 and July 15, 2008 and must be filmed in New York State. Sponsors include IFC, IFP, jetBlue Airways, and The New York Post.

"I'm thankful that Empire State Development decided to announce the 'I LOVE NY' Short Film Contest in the city where the motion picture film started," says Mayor of Rochester, Robert Duffy. "I want to encourage everybody from Rochester to participate in the film competition and tell the world what they love about our part of the state."

The contest announcement was made at the famed George Eastman House.

The Grand Prize Winner's film will appear as part of a commercial during the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade broadcast, as well as on jetBlue Airways seatback televisions and on the Independent Film Channel. Additional prizes, including professional HD video equipment, scholarships to professional film workshops, a mentorship with a major filmmaker and New
York weekend getaways will be awarded in nine categories including best young filmmaker (18 and younger), best student filmmaker and best regional film.

For information on how to contact a spokesperson in your area, please see the fact sheet below.

Short Film Competition Fact Sheet

May 29, Contest Announcement
June 1, First date to submit entries
July 15, Last date to submit entries

The competition is open to any person 14 years old or above. Submissions will be accepted between June 1 and July 15, 2008. All films must be shot in a "New York Minute" (:60 seconds) and filmed in New York State.  All entries must be submitted via the competition website at http://www.metacafe.com/iloveny.

Dave Barger - CEO, JetBlue Airways
Doug Liman - Producer
Evan Shapiro - EVP/General Manager, Independent Film Channel
Michelle Byrd - Executive Director, IFP
Milton Glaser - Creator, "I LOVE NY" logo and Founder, New York Magazine
Philip Seymour Hoffman - Actor/Director
Raj Roy - Chief Curator, MOMA Department of Film
Tina Fey - Actress/Producer
V.A. Musetto - Film Critic, New York Post

Grand Prize Winner
-- Film screening on primetime television program (Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade)
-- Film screening at a NY film festival in 2008/2009
-- Film screening on JetBlue Airways seatback televisions during October/November 2008
-- Film screening on Independent Film Channel (IFC) in September 2008
-- Sony Professional HD Camcorder with assorted accessories
-- Scholarship to attend a specialized film workshop
-- One pair of round-trip tickets on JetBlue

Student Filmmaker Award
-- Mentorship experience with Doug Liman
-- Lunch with New York Post film critic
-- Sony HD Camcorder with assorted accessories
-- One pair of round-trip tickets on JetBlue

Young Filmmaker of Distinction
-- Sony HD Camcorder with assorted accessories
-- One pair of round-trip tickets on JetBlue

Viewers' Choice Winner
-- Sony HD Camcorder with assorted accessories
-- New York State Weekend Getaway (2 film festival VIP passes, 2 nights hotel accommodation, dinner for two)
-- One pair of round-trip tickets on JetBlue

New York Wonders Award aka Regional Films of Distinction
-- Six New York State Weekend Getaways (each getaway consists of 2 film festival VIP passes, 2 nights hotel accommodation, dinner for two)
-- Six pairs of round-trip tickets on JetBlue


-- Debra Markowitz, Nassau County Film Commission (516) 572-0012
-- Michelle Isabel-Stark, Suffolk County Film Commission (631) 853-4834
-- Moke McGowan, President, Long Island CVB (631) 951-3900

-- Thomas Ranese, Chief Marketing Officer, Empire State Development (212) 803-3705
-- Pat Kaufman, Executive Director of the Governor's Office for Motion Picture and TV Development (212) 803-2330

-- Laurent Retjo, Hudson Valley Film Commission (845) 679-4265/(845) 810-0026
-- Deforest Raphael, Yonkers Film Commission (914) 377-6644
-- Iris Stevens, Westchester County Film Commission (914) 853-4834
-- Mary Kay Vrba, Dutchess County TPA (845) 463-4000

-- Greg Dixon, Capital-Saratoga Film Commission (518) 584-3255 x 201
-- Michelle Vennard, Albany CVB (518) 434-1217

-- June Foster, Rochester/Finger Lakes Film Commission (585) 279-8308
-- Dennis Brogan, Syracuse Film Commission (315) 448-8005
-- Ed Hall, President & CEO, Rochester CVB (585) 546-3070
-- David Holder, President, Syracuse CVB (315) 470-1904
-- Dresden Engle, PR, George Eastman House (585) 319-1812

-- Tim Clark, Buffalo/Niagara Film Commission (716) 432-0350
-- John Percy, Niagara CVB (716) 282-8992
-- Ed Heath, President, Buffalo/Niagara CVB (716) 852-0511

Print this article