Festival Director Erin Day and Festival Director/Director of Operations Michael Getto
Festival Director Erin Day and Festival Director/Director of Operations Michael Getto
New York TV Festival 2014 Award Winners

(released 11/6/2014)

The 10th annual New York Television Festival was pleased to announce there were 20 development deals and 2 pilot orders during its October 20-25 festival. The awards show took place at the SVA Theatre in Chelsea on Saturday evening after a preview screening of the Fox show Mulaney, which happened to have 2 of its stars in-house for a Q&A.

The winners were announced by the producers of the festival interspersed with representatives from television and broadcast companies.  All of the winners including festival superlatives along with recipients of development deals are listed below in the order they were announced.

Pitch Awards:
truTV - Greg Ash
SundanceTV - David Harris
WEtv - Dan Berk and Robert Olsen
FremantleMedia/Tiny Riot! - Sutton Dewey and Mark Millner
Investigation Discovery - Nicole Paglia and Daniel Brierly
Conde Nast Entertainment - Ramiro Castro Jr. and Pedro Castro
Channel 4 - Nicole Paglia and Daniel Brierly
Red Arrow Entertainment - Jessica Coleman
National Geographic Channels - Steve Sera, Tim Egan, and Bob Sylvester
H2 - Carrie Preston and Kate Rigg
FYI - James Spokoini and Massimiliano Bulgheroni
Travel Channel / ULIVE - Jim Kozyra and Chris Petlak

Independent Pilot Competition Winners:
Best Actress - Caroline Fox for "This Old Thing"
Best Actor - Chris Mast for "Go, Bolivia, Go!"
Best Editor - Matt VanDaniker for "The Neighborhood"
Best Director - David Eisenberg for "Witnesses"
Best Writing - Sean Skelton with "Trouble"

A big thank you was given to the BAFTA-Rocliffe participants, Just for Laughs "Set to Screen: TV Comedy Search", and BravoFACT Passport Program.

Independent Pilot Competition Winners (continued):
Best Animation - Henry Dalton and Paul Cope for "Future Duck!"
Best Unscripted Pilot - Rich Seng and Nicholas Charles Peters for "Love Spitters"
Best Short-Form Web Series - Daniel Hsia, Elaine Low, and Brian Yang for "Annie Undocumented"
Best Comedy Pilot - Daniel Clark, Megan Green, Joe Kwaczala, Joe McAdam, and Chris Stephens for "Cowards"
Best Drama or Dramedy - Dan Berk and Robert Olsen for "Dispatch"
Audience Award - James Manzello and Matt Pavich for "The Neighborhood"

Festival Development Awards:
Comedy Central - Caroline Fox and Daniel Obzejta for "This Old Thing"
Lionsgate/Sea to Sky - Channel 4 Drama Co-Development Award: Ben Snyder and Ari Issler for "The Come Up"
The Orchard GO Project - Jim Kozyra for "The Jamz"

Lifetime Unscripted Development Pipeline Finalists:
Mark Haapala and Stewart Gold for "Pinky & The Fan Girls"
Ryan Basham for "Doctor Diva"
Nathan Stoll for "Can't Knock The Hustle"
Kate Hendricks for "Kate the Wasp"
Terri Lee Ryan for "Rori's Party"

The winner of the Lifetime Unscripted Development Pipeline will be announced at a later date.

The HISTORY Unscripted Development Pipeline winner was the team of Gary Simson and Andrew Giacometti with their "Wreck Hunters".

The A&E Unscripted Development Pipeline winner was Eric Kutner with "Risk".

The final award winners of the evening were the Critics Award and Best of the Fest.  The Critics Award went to David Eisenberg and Jon Higgins with "Witnesses" and the Best of the Fest award went to Dan Berk and Robert Olsen for "Dispatch".

Photos from the awards show are available in the Photo Seen.

There are numerous deadlines throughout the year for the 2015 New York Television Festival.  Check here on GreenRoomNewYork.com and the official festival website NYTVF.com for more information.

** - Bold denotes winners from New York.

Print this article