Humanitarian, Public and Community Service Emmys

(released 11/16/2007)

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced the winners of this year's Humanitarian, Public and Community Service Emmy Awards at a luncheon ceremony at the Pegasus Room, 30 Rockefeller Center in New York City on Friday, November 9th.

The awards honor television professionals and non-profit groups for programming that advances the common good. During the ceremony Peter Price, President/CEO, NATAS and Lydia Loizides, Chair of the Humanitarian Award, presided over a special salute to WITNESS, for its contributions to human rights.

"Our Public and Community Service Emmy Awards ceremony honors those in the television industry who have dedicated their time and expertise to community service," said Peter Price. "The Academy congratulates the honorees and hopes this event will encourage others to get involved in this rewarding endeavor."

Panels of civic leaders and community service professionals from around the country chose the finalists. Winners for the awards were chosen by a blue-ribbon panel of judges composed of community leaders, educators, business people, and artists.

The complete results are as follows:

Local Public Service Announcement Emmy Award:
"Choose to Save" Savingsman Campaign
  Employee Benefit Research Institute - EBRI

National Public Service Announcement Emmy Award:
Marvelyn Brown: That Night/Finding Out/Denial
  Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation/MTV

National Public Service Announcement/Broadband:
Big Fun with Global Warming
  Project / Sierra Club

Community Service Campaign Emmy Award:
Rap It Up
  The Kaiser Family Foundation/BET

Community Service Emmy Award/Broadband:
Think: MTV's think HIV

Print this article