Print this article
photo: Robert De Niro - Tribeca Film Festival - Begin Again premiere - April 26, 2014
Film Society Honors De Niro with Chaplin Award

(released 3/21/2017)

The Charlie Chaplin Award will be presented May 8, 2017 to Robert De Niro to celebrate all facets of his career. Robert De Niro is known for his characters on film, co-founding the Tribeca Film Festival, Tribeca Institute, and named an ambassador of New York.

This Charlie Chaplin Award is the 44th and is held annually by The Film Society of Lincoln Center. The award began in 1972 when Charlie Chaplin returned to the US from exile to accept the honor and thus the award was named in his honor.  Meryl Streep, Ben Stiller, Whoopie Goldberg, Barry Levinson, and Harvey Keitel will be present to share movie and interview clips climaxing with Martin Scorsese presenting the Charlie Chaplin Award to Robert De Niro. Scorsese and Streep are both previous recipients of the Charlie Chaplin Award.

Ahead of the award presentation, the Film Society will screen a week of De Niro films from April 12-19, 2017 including the eight films he collaborated with Scorsese. Mean Streets, Raging Bull, Casino, The King of Comedy, GoodFellas, Taxi Driver and more titles will be presented.

For information about attending the gala, please contact the gala hotline at, or 212-875-5076.